Novikov bridge This arched stone bridge with a single span – the oldest in Odessa. It was erected over the Quarantine beam (now – Devolanovskyi descent) for two years and opened in 1824. The owner of the cable plant merchant Novikov has acted as a contractor, he also belonged to the idea of the construction of this bridge. It is possible that he wanted to build that bridge to shorten the road from home to work – his palace was on Gavanna street, and rope factory – on the Kanatna street. Architects of this bridge was Hauy and Digby.