HISTORY OF ODESSA TROLLEYBUSES

On November 7, 1945, the grand opening of the trolleybus line was held in Odesa. The first line was built back in 1941, but the war prevented its opening. The Romanian invaders took away all the equipment prepared for the launch of the first phase of the system, including ten new trolleybuses YATB-4, which were built at the Yaroslavl Automobile Plant. Only in 1944, after the liberation of the city, the stolen equipment began to return to the city. However, instead of new trolleybuses, the destroyed, broken, burned and understaffed in Romania machines reached Odesa. Together with ten of Odesa trolleybuses, a destroyed trolleybus of the same sort came from another city, also from Romania.
In a situation of an extreme deficiency of wartime, workers of the Odesa Trolleybus Trust restored trolleybuses and the city contact network. After repairs, future drivers received training on that trolleybusses. On October 4, 1945, a special committee approved the city trolleybus network; on October 6, there was the first test run. On November 7, the first route of the Odessa trolleybus “Railway Station – Lev Tolstoy Square” was opened. Originally, it passed along Pushkinskaya, Deribasovskaya streets and Lev Tolstoy street. Afterward, in connection with сlosures of traffic at Deribasovskaya street in 1984 and because of changes in traffic patterns in the city center, it obtained its current view.
Since then, the Odesa trolleybus network faithfully serves for carrying  Odesa residents and guests of Odesa around the city…