MONUMENTS TO VICTIMS OF WAR

MONUMENT TO THE VICTIMS OF THE HOLOCAUST

Sculptor Tsereteli, Z., architect V. Glazyrin
Plan, an initiative of the family Maniovič
Prokhorovsky square
The Holocaust (holocaustum – “burnt”, “burnt sacrifice” – biblical Greek texts) called the planned extermination of Jews by the Nazis during the Second world war.
On January 27, the world community celebrates the international day of remembrance of the victims of the Holocaust.
Once in 1933, Hitler became Chancellor of Germany, officially began to appear laws and events occur that limit the rights of those who had not Aryan or related to her by blood. Burned books by Jewish authors, Jews were forbidden to participate in the cultural life of the country, to marry Aryans, Jews were deprived of German citizenship.
In 1938, the world was shocked by the events of Kristallnacht, when it was destroyed about a thousand synagogues, many Jews were killed or maimed, thousands sent to concentration camps…
September 1, 1939 Germany invaded Poland, and on September 21, came the order on the conclusion of the Polish Jews in the ghetto.
Since the summer of 1941 the Nazis began to solve the “Jewish question” in the Soviet Union: according to official figures killed 1 200 000 Soviet Jews.
Decent people of various nationalities, risking his own life, tried to save the Jewish population, condemned by the Nazis to death. After the war many of them were awarded the title “Righteous among the Nations”.
Besides the Jews, according to the policy of the Nazis, total annihilation was to be Gypsies, the handicapped, retarded, gay… Partly had to be destroyed Ukrainians and Russians. Survivors were instructed to “trust” the work in the field and look after pets.

MONUMENT TO THE UNKNOWN SAILOR
May 9, 1960 in Central Park of Culture and Rest. Taras Shevchenko Monument is open to the unknown sailor. Sculptor M.Naruzetsky, architects and G.Topuz P.Tomilin. Erected in honor of soldiers of the Maritime Army and the sailors of the Black Sea Fleet, heroically defending Odessa in 1941. The obelisk of red granite, cast iron and bronze has a height of 21 m. At the foot of the obelisk, framed by a bronze wreath, lit the eternal flame. At the foot of the slab cast in bronze gun and peakless cap.
Since 1968, at the monument honor guard on duty.

THE POTYOMKINTSY MONUMENT
On September 28, 1898, on the slipway of the Nikolaev Admiralty was solemnly laid battleship, which became the strongest in the black sea fleet.
Tactical and technical characteristics of the squadron battleship “Prince Potemkin-Tavricheskiy” was the most powerful in its class ship of the Russian Navy, surpassing armament Western counterparts, while giving them a little in speed (16 knots). The battleship was commissioned in may 1905.
The rebellion broke out in June. The occasion was the spoiled meat, which were going to feed the sailors. This is, in any case, the official version, which for many years have taught students in the USSR. However, as a result of modern research, it turns out that this was nothing more than a pretext — conditions, nutrition and work of the sailors in the Imperial Navy were not so bad, and their treatment was generally normal. The real reasons behind the rebellion was not the meat, and the overall situation in the country, where there is a need for change. The political system of the Russian Empire impeded the development of the society, from discontent. Even if the sailors and were well fed, they could not be satisfied if they knew that their families go hungry at the same time.
And after the shooting of peaceful demonstration on January 9, 1905 sailors soon began to realize that officers lead their arms against the insurgent people. All this was the root causes of the uprising.
It should be noted that the revolutionaries had long prepared uprising on the Black Sea fleet in the autumn, but it so happened that on “Potemkin” it broke out earlier than planned — 14 June. The same evening, “Potemkin and his accompanying destroyer, which also rebelled sailors, came to Odessa, where took place the universal strike workers. Morning sailors were taken to the Platonic body Mole officer one of the organizers of the rebellion Gn Vakulenchuka. Odessa citizens marched in the streets of port, slopes, stairs. These events have been played in 1925, in the film the Battleship Potemkin. Since then, she merges tabloid ladder and started calling the Potemkin.
Monument reproduces stage executions of rebels on the Battleship Potemkin. Sailors relieve themselves of tarp that covered them before being shot, to pounce on officers. But Eisenstein, Director of the famous film, which were made into these events, wrote that the scene with the pitch tarpaulin sailors was creative discovery. A former naval officer, legal watch group, was in despair of this idea. He explained that the tarp spread beneath the feet of those sentenced to death by firing squad to blood not fouled deck.
This monument is popularly nicknamed monument wide eyes (in different versions of hack, three kopecks, etc.). A group of sailors allegedly struggling because of coins, found one of them on the pavement in the crowd. One sailor squeezes her fist, someone tries to take away her, another, falling, pulls the hands with the exclamation “give at least look!”, the third covered her eyes as though from the bright sunlight reflected new coin.
The monument is open July 25, 1965 initially on Ekaterininskaya square, where the first standing monument to Ekaterina II, then to Karl Marx, then for many years flower flowerbed. October 14, 2007, in connection with the restoration of the monument to Catherine II, Potemkin monument was moved to the customs area.

MEMORIAL “WINGS OF VICTORY”
Victory Memorial wings “Wings of victory”, opened in the year 1984 in the fortieth anniversary of the liberation of Odessa by the Romanian-German occupiers.
Stella grey marble is surmounted by a gold star (1965 year Odessa named Hero-City).
The two obelisks engraved with the text of the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR on the attribution of the city the title of “Hero City” and immortalized the names of Odessa-heroes of the Soviet Union.
“Wings of victory” Memorial is located on 10 April (intersection of Chernyakhovskogo, Genoese and Shevchenko Avenue).

MONUMENT TO THE DEAD SAILORS AND SHIPS
First of all, this monument reminds us of the catastrophe “Nakhimov”, which happened in 1986. However, the monument reminds of passenger and cargo ships, evacuated from the besieged Odessa troops and residents, and many others.

MONUMENT TO SEAMEN-SUBMARINERS (STEFAN DRZEWIECKI)
Monument to Stefan Drzewiecki, creator of the submarine in Odessa, appeared in victory Park in 2004, during the first International Congress of 41 divers and has become an integral part of the city. So the inhabitants of Odessa returned the name of scientist and genius who experienced one of the world’s first submarine at the SKII RAID.
Monument to Stefan Drzewiecki in Odessa turned out to be so unusual, avant-garde, that immediately catches the eye.
Similar to the all-seeing eye, “visitors are guests, coming to the sculpture. One girl described the composition of fish that ate the head of a man. However, all doubts will immediately label, which tells the story of the legendary engineer, scientist, who lived in Odessa. The authors of the monument’s architect V.Myronenko and sculptor A. Kopiev presented the monument Stefan Drzewiecki, surrounded by waves, symbolizing the submarine. Sculptor in the neo-realistic style created the image of a man who dedicated his life to the sea, the sky and inventions.

MONUMENT TO HEROES 69th FIGHTER AVIATION REGIMENT
Architect V. Mironenko, sculptors in. Patorov, m. Eremenko, 1984 year.
Square Heroes-pilots on the 5th station of Greater Fontan-on the site of a military airfield.
In the first months of the great Patriotic war aviation regiment suffered heavy losses, not only in heaven but also on earth: the Nazis knew the location of the airfield. It was decided to build a well camouflaged airfield within the city is the Chubaevskom wasteland (5-th station of Fontan). A huge amount of work was mastered (mainly women and young adults) per week. “Hiding” under the scrim were not visible to enemy aircraft.
12 pilots Aviation Regiment, including Commander of the regiment Lev Lvovich Shestakov, were awarded the title of hero of the Soviet Union.