WESTERN & EASTERN ARTS MUSEUM
Grecheskaya Street 16/Pushkinskaya Street 9 | +38(048)722-48-15
The Museum building is a monument of architecture of the mid-19th century, this Palace built in 1856-1858 under the project of architect l. Otto. He settled in the spirit prevalent during those times of eclecticism: features of the baroque nature coexist with elements: Empire and Rococo styles.
The two-storeyed building of the museum has twenty three halls in which the exposure of the antique, Eastern and Western arts. On the ground floor of the Museum is the antique Department, which symbolizes the role of the ancient heritage of the art of European culture. Next, taking just three rooms, Department of Oriental art. On the second floor of the Palace presents a collection of objects of art, which includes painting, sculpture and decorative arts. Here visitors can see works by famous masters: “Saint Luke”, “Saint Matthew” Frans Hals, “Madonna enthroned” by Francesco Granačči and Threatens Amur etc
THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART OF ODESSA
Belinskogo Street 5 | +38(048)759-10-18
The Museum was founded in year 2008 thanks to businessman, intellectual and philanthropist b. Morohovskomu based on a unique collection of works by masters of the “second wave” of famous avant-garde collector Odessa m. Knobelâ.
Pride of the museum are the halls devoted to informal art of Odessa:-the first Soviet abstractionist Odessa, artist poet and disident a. Sokolov;
-“Fence” exhibition at., and s. Cockchafer Sychev in 1967-the first unresolved art event in the USSR;
-reconstruction of apartment exhibitions Nonconformists 70-x;
-Odessa conceptual group 80-x;
-“South Russian» transavantgarde 80-90-x;
-modern communication of the artist and the city.
Section of the latest currents assures that the fine art of Odessa is actively developing as it should be in the cultural capital of Ukraine! The Museum operates an exhibition hall, which hosts contemporary art exhibitions, scientific conferences and various art projects. The exposition of the IUIS is located on two floors in an old mansion-a monument of architecture.
ODESSA ART MUSEUM
Sofievskaya Street 5а | +38(048)723-83-93
Odessa Art Museum contains one of the biggest collections of Russian and Ukrainian visual arts from the second half of XIX-beginning of XX century. The museum was opened by the initiative of the Fine Arts Society in 1899, in a palace that once belonged to Olga Naryshkina, count Pototskyy’s daughter, and was designed in the style of Russian Classicism by Franz Boffo. G. Marazli, mayor of the city and famous patron purchased the palace and presented it to the city especially as a museum establishment. One of the first directors of the museum was an artist Kostandi, and his paintings are represented in the exhibition. Among ten thousand exhibits are paintings by the great artists Levytskyy, Borovikovskyy, Kiprenskyy, Tropinin, Ayvazovskyy, Serov, Vrubel, Repin, Shishkin, Savrasov, Kuindgi, Roerich, Borisov-Musatov, Kandinskyy… One can admire the powerful, demonic “Valkyrie” by Vrubel in one of the 26 halls of the museum or take a look at what was painted by the great Ukrainian poet – Taras Grigoryevich Shevchenko!
Grotto of Odessa Art Museum is another very interesting mini-excursion and a romantic walk. After the intriguing historical introduction of the guide, guests are introduced into the mysterious underground. Visitors follow a short footpath along a well thought-out stone interior containing statues and statuettes and soft illumination, rounded off with captivating story which the guide tells of the lives, amusements and small pranks of the nobility of our region (including secret meetings, fateful passions, countess Pototskaya and great poet A. S. Pushkin…) Excursions of the Arts Museum are with the guide only.
ODESSA STATE LITERATURE MUSEUM
Lanzheronovsraya Street 2 | +38(048)722-33-70
The two hundred year history of Odessa has included about 300 distinguished writers, all represented in the 24 halls of Odessa Literature Museum, established in 1977. Located near Deribasovskaya Street and the Odessa Opera House this magnificent palace with luxuriant halls was designed by L.Otton. The former mansion of Prince Gagarin now exists as part of the city’s cultural life. The building itself has belonged to the Odessa Literature and Artistic Society since the beginning of the XX century. Pushkin, Gogol, Mitskevich, Babel, Franko, Lesya Ukrainka, Korolenko, Bunin, Katayev, Kotsyubinskyy, Bagritskyy, Olesha, Ilf & Petrov… This list of the most eminent writers can be continued, and one can see personal belongings, autographs of the writers, first editions of their books, engravings, age-old placards, and rare issues of Odessa newspapers in the museum… Visitors can smile at the sight of a funny drawing of Yuriy Olesha and see a cap that once belonged to Ilya Ilf. The Literature Museum is finely decorated and each hall has its peculiar characteristics. Although the grand piano has grown quiet in the Golden Hall it sets off the golden elegance of the room’s furnishing with its blackness (historians believe that Franz Liszt himself once gave a concert here!). The exquisite furniture and design of some halls alternates with the riot of placards and revolutionary themes of others. Don’t be surprised if you meet a well-dressed bride here, as if she stepped out of a fairy-tale – the palatial interior of the Literature Museum is popular for the wedding photos of newlyweds. The Garden of Sculptures contains representations of famous Odessa characters and is set next to the museum: there is thoughtful and philosophical Rabinovich with a suitcase, dashing Antelope-Gnu, Misha (Zhvanetskyy) – our Odessite, not yet hatched forthcoming Odessa genius and Odessa-mama with the first city fathers in her hands Monuments – small, modern, well-known and even…legendary! A new sculpture is opened each year on the 1 of April – the city’s special Holiday of Humor.
LITERARY – MEMORIAL MUSEUM OF A.PUSHKIN
Pushkinskaya Street 13 | +38(048)722-74-53
In Odessa, on Pushkinskaya street, 13 is a literary-memorial Museum of A. S. Pushkin. This building was one of the first hotels of the young city – “Hotel du Nord”. Upon arrival in Odessa, July 3, 1823, Pushkin stayed in this hotel and has lived here for a month.
For thirteen months of Odessa exile Pushkin created thirty lyric poems, the poem “The Gypsies”, completed “the Bakhchsarai fountain”, written two and a half chapters of “Eugene Onegin”.
In 1959 it was decided the Executive Committee to create a memorial Museum of A. S. Pushkin, which was opened two years later. His collection was constantly filled up: many known scientists, writers, collectors, passed rare editions of Pushkin works, pictures and engraving, furniture and articles of way of life of the gone epoch. To the 200-years-old anniversary of poet the new display of museum was created, sanctified to fascinations of poet, his friendly and love connections, difficult official mutual relations.
ODESSA LOCAL-HISTORY MUSEUM
Havannaya Street 4 | +38(048)722-84-90
The museum is located in central Odessa next to the old City Garden, in a building that is an architectural monument of the second half of the XIX century. The house-palace of A.Y. Novikov,well-known manufacturer, was built on Gavannaya Street in 1876 to the design by F. Gonsiorovskyy, the architect. This mansion was purchased by city authorities at the beginning of the XX century and after the 1917 revolution it took on various roles as a library, club, residential building and finally a museum, after the “Heroic Defense of Odessa” exhibition in August, 1944. The current Odessa State Museum of Local History originated in 1956. It was established on the base of the Defense Museum of Odessa and Odessa Regional Museum of Local History. The palace’s interior was restored to its original appearance in 1994 after 11 years of renovation. Museum displays include documents, print editions, items of applied and visual arts, medals and coins, weaponry of the XVII-XIX centuries connected with the city and regional history that once formed a part of the collection of the Museum of Odessa Historical and Antiquities Society, Book Museum, and the Old Odessa Museum. There are a lot of vivid pages in the relatively short history of Odessa: some of them are connected with visits by distinguished personages – Doctor Pirogov, chemist Mendeleyev, writer Lesya Ukrainka – and the memorable, heroic days of Odessa’s defense during the Great Patriotic War. Witnesses to these historical events, such as a foremast fragment of Battleship “Potemkin”, or pieces of the original monument to Catherine II and her associates (created by the sculptors B. Eduards, A. Popov and Y. Dmytenko) are especially valuable. The history of Ukraine from the times of Hetman Skoropadskyy, the first president of Ukraine, M. Grushevskyy, and other historical personalities are all reflected in the museum’s exhibition.
ODESSA ARCHAEOLOGICAL MUSEUM
Lanzheronovskaya Street 4 | +38(048)722-63-02
Odessa Archaeological Museum, one of the oldest in Ukraine, was founded in 1825. There are more than 160 000 exhibits. They are the basis of one of the largest collection of information sources about ancient history of Northern Black Sea region. The museum possesses rich collection of archaeological relics of primitive and classical culture, relics of ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece and Rome, besides there is a large and valuable collection of coins and medals.
The exhibits, represented in the first and second holls, belonged to the huge period: from the appearence of the first men to the second millennium B.C. The finds from the settlements and burial grounds of Gumelnitsa, Tripolye and Usatovo culture, barrows and hoards of the Bronze Age are of special interest. In the first millennium B.C. ancient Greek colonies, such as Olbia, Tyras, Niconium, Panticapaeum, Chersonesus, were founded on the North Black Sea Coast. Painted vessels, terracottas, sculptures, inscriptions, articles of craft art, represented in muzeum, testify about prosperity of the antique civilization.
The culture of Scythian tribes, inhabited in Black Sea littoral steppes, is represented by finds from settlements and barial grounds. There are weapon items, bronze cauldrons, other utensils, adornments. By the beginning of the first millennium A.D. the Sarmatians displaced the Scythians. In the IIIrd – IVth centuries A.D. the tribal alliance, represented by the items of Chernyakhovo culture, was created. Since the middle of the first millennium the formation of Slavic people began. In the IXth century they were united into a state with Kyiv as a centre. The Khazars, Polovtsy, Pechenegs were the Slavs’ neighbours during the different times. The period of the IXth – XIVth centuries is reflected by the materials from the settlements and cities of Kyiv Rus, Belgorod, Caffa-Theodosia, Berezan island.
The genuine, unique pieces of art made of precious metals are represented in “The Golden Treasury”. The oldest of them belong to the beginners of the second millennium B.C. The adornments and articles of Slavic craftsmen from the Scythian and Sarmatian burial grounds, the medieval funerals of nomads, attract your attention. The most rare coins are exhibited here from more than 50 000 coins, kept in the museum. Such as the gold and silver coins produced in Ancient Greece, Rome, Byzantium.
The Russian Numismatic section is presented by “Zlatnick of Prince Volodimir”, one of ten that remained in the world to nowadays. Russian Empire is represented by coins minted during the Romanovs’ dynasty, gold and silver medals, wich were produced in honor of memorable events in the Russian history.
MUNICIPAL MUSEUM OF PRIVAT COLLECTIONS OF A.BLESCHUNOV
Pol’skaya Street 19 | +38(048)770-10-37
The A. V. Bleshchunov Museum of Personal Collections is an amazing space where everything seems to come alive beneath the gaze of its visitors. Items from past lives, artworks and luxuries of different countries and peoples have been gathered under in an old Odessa house.The museum was established in 1989 by Aleksandr Vladimirovich Bleshchunov (1914-1991) – scientist, collector and Alpinist. It is his collection (in his former apartment) that makes the basis of the exposition that is constantly growing. A. V. Bleshchunov’s memorial room introduces the personality of the museum founder.
The Museum of Personal Collections is not big, but due to the well considered interior the tour of its exhibition is like an immersion into another dimension. The European room is furnished with items of the past ages, from pretentious furniture to porcelain… The Buddhist East is a small hall which keeps its secrets behind the Chinese screen of Coromandel lacquer (the only one of its kind in Ukraine)… The Muslim East casts a spell through finely patterned carpets from the XVIII-XIX centuries, original decorations and weapons… The Boudoir for Ladies and Russian Antiquity room of the XIX to the beginning of the XX century regales a déjà vu feeling from War and Peace, the novel by Tolstoy, or Yevgeniy Onegin, the poem by Pushkin, for there you have everything: ballroom shoes, fans, embroideries and laces… There are also local, family style exhibits (try to play upon the harmonium!) and presentations of Ukrainian and Russian objects caught in a classical, museum-like style… This charming Odessa Museum floods visitors with various, special impressions.