Odessa, Prymorska Street, 6
Initially there was no sea terminal in Odessa. Passenger vessels moored to the Military Pontoon. There was also an unpretentious two-story building that served as a maritime station until 1968. It was possible to walk from Primorskaya Street to the right side of the military descent to the sea terminal – through the harbor gates and railroad tracks.
The growth of passenger traffic in the port of Odessa after the Second World War made it necessary to build a more modern sea terminal. In the 50 years she began to thrive Crimean Caucasus line. Marine passenger terminals were built in the port cities of the Black Sea – for example, in Sochi, made in the style of the Stalin Empire, sometimes called “staliance”. Projects of the sea terminal in Odessa on the New Mole appeared in the early 50’s. The first two projects are classical empire buildings, surrounded by colonnades, porticos and crowned with a high spire.
Under Stalin, the new sea terminal in Odessa was never built. And later, in the framework of the struggle against the “architectural excesses” initiated by Khrushchev, the project has changed very much. The building was moved from the end of the New Mall to its head, made more “cubic” in the spirit of constructivism and functionalism, but at the same time retained the columns characteristic of the Empire. But in a couple of years the project changed again. Several variants of the project for 1958 show the building of “transitional” architecture, without a high spire and very similar to the post-war railway stations.
In the 1960s, the project of the sea terminal received completely different characteristics; this project was designed by the architect V.P. Golovin and V.K. Kremljakow. Now it was a huge building, imitating the contours of a passenger ship, but made of glass and reinforced concrete.
The building of the sea station was put into operation in 1968, although most of the works were completed by the planned date – the 50th anniversary of the 1917 revolution in 1967. Before this event builders had to extend the New Mall by 70 meters, and at its underground level to build a huge warehouse complex.
After the construction of the marine station, the new mole received passenger and cargo ships at the same time. Freight cranes were kept on it, and along the berths there were railroad tracks. For convenient transfer of passengers onboard the liners, there were mobile ladders-bridges. The entrance pavilion from Suvorov Street (Primorskaya) with escalators was also constructed, and the line of the old funicular that ran along the Potemkin Stairs was replaced by a modern escalator. Over the railways Odessa-port stations a bridge-viaduct was built.
In its original form, the Marine Station stood until the early 1990s. By 1994, the building was overhauled, with most of the original interiors replaced with a more modern furnish. Instead of warehouses on the underground level, a huge concert and exhibition hall was arranged, the interior of the passenger terminal was expanded and the yacht club was built. By 2001 a high-rise hotel building was erected on the New Mole, originally belonging to the Kempinski hotel network, but then it was withdrawn from its control due to structural defects. On the square in front of the marine station appeared the sculpture “The Golden Child” by Ernst Neizvestny, and in 2002 on the quay an elegant monument to the Sailor’s wife was created, by the authorship of Alexander Tokarev.