RAILWAY STATION “ODESSA-MAIN” (ODESA-HOLOVNA)

Odesa, Pryvokzalna square, 2


Departure schedule times of trains from Odessa

Arrival schedule times of trains to Odessa


Graph Vorontsov did not manage to fulfill his dream – to build a railway in Odessa. In 1863 in St. Petersburg it was decided to lay a railway from Odessa to Balta for public funds. To manage the work was sent Baron Ungern-Sternberg; general leadership was entrusted to the governor of the region – Adjutant-General P.E. Kotzebue.
May 4, 1863, there was a ceremonial laying of the Odessa-Parkan Railway, then began the laying of the railway line from Razdelnaya to Balta. In December 1864, the highest command was followed: the Odessa-Balt road to continue through Kremenchug to Kharkiv. In 1867 a railway line was opened, laid through the Peresyp to the salt mine Novoselskogo, and in 1872, at the suggestion of Admiral A. Chikharev, the director of the ROPiT, a branch was taken from this railway line to the city baths on the Kuyalnik estuary. The railway station at that time was not yet, and passengers from the city were delivered to the Tovarnaya station by a special train, similar to a steam tram.
Only in the summer of 1880 the Society of South-Western Railways erected a railway station(architect A.O. Bernardazzi, the project of the St. Petersburg architect V.A. Schröter).

The old station was “scrubby”. It was built in 1884 according to the project of V.A. Schröter. Bernardazzi built the building; he served as a city architect and worked as an architect at Novorossiysk University from 1856 to 1858. The station was created in a neoclassical style, according to the “dead-end” layout of the building’s volume at the end of the aprons. From the Pushkinskaya street there were entrances for passengers of the first and second classes, and the third class had entrance from the Sennaya Square. For today the separation of social classes is left at the entrance, but for I and II classes there are SV and compartment carriages, and for III there are general cars. Three arches of the main facade, framed by columns of the Doric Order, overlooked the square. A glassed (crystal) landing stage above the platforms and a separate pavilion for the royal family remained forever unrealized.
The current building of the railway station was built in 1952 by A.M. Chuprin, in exchange for the destroyed in the last days of the fascist occupation of Odessa in 1944 building. The building of the new station repeats in general the old railway station, destroyed by the war.

In our time, the railway station is a major transport hub connecting the city with the regions of the country and near and far abroad. For today, the station operates up to 70 train pairs for local and long-distance traffic.


Departure schedule times of trains from Odessa

Arrival schedule times of trains to Odessa