Officially it was founded in 1875 and was called Aleksnadrovski. The park has preserved oak that Sadilov the Emperor Alexander II. However, the development of the territory, as the park began long before this important event.
This area is partially formed part of the Turkish Hadjibeyan. After taking Hadjibeyan here pojavljatsja Hadzibeevsky earthen fortress, but was destroyed by the Turkish. Fortress appeared before the city’s founding. Strengthening it was ground and was located just on the territory of the park Shevchenko. The same mound on which the Alexander Column, and was one of the bastions of the fortress of Odessa. After the abolition of the Odessa fortress piece of its territory actually I went to the quarantine and became his “part of the passenger.” They say that the park is the city wall, but it is not. The park is located quarantine wall and fortress itself was ground.
It is known that in 1824 here in some occasion strayed AS Pushkin. And I found myself just in the location of the artillery battery. First, the poet was almost arrested as an enemy spy, but quickly understood, they came to the indescribable delight and made a friendly party. Moreover, shots of champagne bottle was not enough, and on the orders of the officer on duty, Ensign PA Grigorov, salute was fired in honor of Pushkin combat guns. During that 20-year-old varmint officer he received as a guardhouse days, and at the same time pass on immortality.
Here, according to R. Shuvalov extracted from archive files, secret burial were made of separate state criminals who were executed in the Odessa prison castle and race field, in particular – “narodovoltsy”.
Even before the foundation of the park here beyla cottage Langeron. She arranged festivals, where you could buy a lot of stuff all delicious. During festivals stand out, so to speak, “ethnic societies”, that is, in one booth going to the German workmen, singing their songs to the harp, drinking beer; in the other – the Italian sailors and fishermen singing with a guitar and drank some of Chianti; in the third – the Greek dancing small traders, applying to the Cyprus mastic, etc.
A park in the vicinity of the old fortress have decided in the early 1840s of the XIX century. Starting this decayed as formed almost spontaneously, garden. That is, as the trees planted were all here, but no care was not observed them. However, overgrown trees and shrubs area called the Castle Garden. It is a wild, he often served as a haven for all sorts of shady characters.
A New History of the park began with the idea, clearly defined and active young mayor GG Marazli who offered to arrange not just a city park, but the park is truly elite. This proposal was preceded by the following story. In 1874 the inhabitants of Odessa in poverty due to crop failure and severe stagnation in trade. The crime situation is such that the worse. And while city council has allocated 10 thousand rubles, that priiskat something to do for the dormant labor. As no qualified work could not offer the city government, it was decided to build a wide road out of town to a place of public festivals and swimming at the cottage “Langeron”. In the spring of that year, 300 diggers set to work: they leveled ramparts, filled ditches, etc. But when the workers approached the powder keg of Lublin Regiment, its commander said that orders to shoot when the distance is reduced to 50 steps, then there will be.. It acts as the statute prescribes. Negotiations, resulting in the cellar has been moved to a safe distance, and all the reconstruction took over the city. Laying tracks continued, was successfully completed, and thus the city without firing a shot captured Hadzibeevsky old castle for public use.
Here then Marazli and he offered to arrange a city park here, and in view of the forthcoming visit to Odessa to ask His Majesty the Emperor on the name of this park Alexandrovsky. a detailed plan was drawn up, and in one of the ramparts built a luxurious royal pavilion (on the site of which was later built the tower), where the monarch and his crew entered the September 7, 1875. The emperor agreed and personally planted a young oak at the main bastion of the former fortress.
The park was the main Alexander Boulevard. In the center of the Alexander Avenue was a neat two-storey building with a beautiful buffet Belvedere turrets on both sides – the vast veranda and the “Music Pavilion”; in the warmer months between the buildings and refreshments under the spreading trees exhibited many tables for visitors. Buffet and the entire boulevard lit by electricity, which was still a rarity even at the end of the XIX century.
In the park, one of the first demonstrations in Odessa, then fashioned “Cinématographe” was organized in the mid-1890s. Immediately arranged most luxurious fireworks. In short, it was primarily a place of rest of the aristocracy and reputable merchants.
Alexander Park – the cradle of numerous sports in Odessa. Almost from its inception farm Langeron here, for example, practiced shooting at targets Odessa hunting enthusiasts. The park is a rich man gave names Lashkov rink on roller skates with asphalt coating and electric light. This happened back in 1856.
Before our time in the park preserved building of the tram station in 1910 (architects – A.B. Minkus and L. Belkin).
For perfume factory “Rally” was brought from Moscow Pavilion in rococo style, and from Poland delivered the building, which houses plant, supplying electricity exhibition.
A notable place of Alexandrovsky Park and extremely attractive for the young people of that time was the so-called “Black Sea”. “Once in the Alexander Park, hanging over the pipes and masts port, the city fathers with the pedagogical aim to acquaint the population with the national geography came up to build a small pond in the form of the Black Sea. In strict accordance with the map kalosheobraznuyu dug pit. … If the tank itself has crumbled and lost the slightest semblance of the Black Sea, its regulars firmly retained the nickname “chernomortsy”.
Separate page in the history of Alexander Park – Factory, Art and Industry and Agriculture Russia exhibition, which took place on its territory in 1910 – 1911 years under the auspices of the Odessa branch of the Imperial Russian Technical Society and the Imperial Society of Agriculture in South Russia, and attracted hundreds of the most reputable exhibitors from all parts of the empire. Incidentally, the main part of the exhibition was located just in the basin, subsequently adapted by the ChMP Stadium.
Suffice it to say that the opening of the exhibition was timed launch of the first in Odessa line electric tram, which runs from the park to the city through the Stroganov Bridge and was made “Anonymous Belgian society.” During this exhibition, moving sidewalk was working in the park. Total 1440 ekspanatov was presented at the exhibition.
Park Taras Shevchenko, he began April 30, 1920, according to Executive Committee decisions.
NMP first stadium was built in 1936 and which is associated with the names of many well-known athletes.
At the site of the proposed pond, it was built Greentheater, very popular with the public in 1950-60-rm. With the theater associated with the names of famous artists:. L. Utesov, O. Lungstrem, E. Pyekha, A. Raikin, V. Obodzinskiy, Tarapunka and Shtepsel, M. Vodyanoy, etc. Now, unfortunately, the Green theater in ruins and destroyed.
The park is set a number of monuments: the Walk of Fame with burials participants Odessa liberation and monument to the Unknown Sailor,. In different years, it was discovered monument Soldiers in Afghanistan and a monument to the Dead Sailors.
Kobzar monument was erected in 1966.
Ferris wheel was opened in 2011. There is also an attraction complex there. The wheel was included in the list of the most famous Ferris wheels of Europe, it`s the highest in Ukraine and one of the main attractions of Odessa.
In 2017, to the Day of the city, a skate area was opened in the park for roller skaters and extreme cyclists. A new sports ground is located between the “Chernomorets” stadium and the Suvorov Alley. The site consists of four levels of facilities for performing tricks and extreme riding on rollers, skates and bicycles.